Carefully separate and complete the Concealed Handgun Permit Application and the Concealed Handgun Permit Information Packet. The documents must be read thoroughly, and the application printed in ink or typed and completed in full. Please use additional sheets of paper if necessary to respond to the questions. If the application is not fully completed, it cannot be processed. An applicant shall complete the permit application form and return it, in person, to the Sheriff of the county in which the applicant resides, to the Sheriff of the county in which the applicant maintains a secondary residence or owns or leases real property used by the applicant in a business, or to the Sheriff that previously issued a permit to the applicant. The applicant shall sign the completed permit application in person, before the sheriff’s designee; upon a sworn oath that the applicant knows the contents of the permit application and that the information contained in the permit application is true and correct. An applicant who knowingly and intentionally makes a false or misleading statement on a permit application or deliberately omits any material information requested on the application commits perjury as described in Colorado Revised Statute (C.R.S.) 18-8-503. Upon conviction, the applicant shall be punished as provided in 18-1.3-501 of the Colorado Revised Statute. In addition, the applicant shall be denied the right to obtain or possess a permit, and the Sheriff shall revoke the applicant’s permit if issued prior to conviction.
The Information portion of the packet should be kept for your future reference.
In addition to the completed application form (last two pages of packet), you must submit:
- A $52.50 processing fee. This fee pays for a state and national criminal history check (fingerprints) and
for an Insta-check (NICS) per Statute. This is required for all regular civilian applicants.
- A $100.00 Processing fee. This fee pays for forms, ID cards, local criminal history checks, and other
- Proof of residency. (Colorado Driver’s License, Colorado ID Card or Military ID Card and Duty Orders)
- Documentary evidence demonstrating competence with a handgun as specified in section 18-12-203 (1)
(h) of the Colorado Revised Statute. (See TRAINING REQUIREMENTS SECTION for further details)
The Garfield County Sheriff’s Office will accept one payment in the amount of $152.50 for all processing fees for a Concealed Handgun Permit. Accepted forms of payments include cash, check, credit card and money orders.
Fingerprints and photograph are taken at the time the applicant submits the application in Garfield County.
If you have any questions concerning the application process, please call the Garfield County Sheriff’s Rifle Annex at 970-665-0200 or Glenwood Office at 970-945-0453